the pain

between these tears lies a fallacy,
fed full course meals by isolation.
drowning in the nectar of another,
I stare like a wasp. However I sting myself.
again and again pricks against my skin
red streams contrasting against the pale palette.

My redemption has been unkind,
it has fled me and left me asking why.
wondering if the design ,
my blueprints depict a pillar
standing solitary forever in time.
eroding and eventually falling.

the sign on the road speaks of a cliff.
passing it, it lingers in my rearview
laughing and taunting
saying it’s me.
it’s my fault they always leave.
just cease.

blood eventually dries,
I never wipe it away the crisp flakes comfort me.
a canvas of crimson petals and aquamarine eyes
screaming questions to the ceiling.

forget?
forgive?
love?
submit?
retreat?
wait?

The pain replies with one word.

Continue.

Leave a comment