Flowers

He doesn’t bring me flowers that he can see
vibrant and bright, loving and free
tulips with roses
daffodils or daisies,
none of these I get yet still he amazes me

he doesn’t bring me flowers, anymore
now I see
the gift I receive is to be free
no shackles or chains to harm my wrists
no guiding light right through the mist
the nectar flowers bring to me
so sickly sweet

my door remains open
my house is empty
my eyes un-shut and what does one see
a beautiful meadow he has left for me
he doesn’t bring flowers
he shows me,

me

Leave a Reply

